Edit user roles

Author: Visual Guard 90 views

Here is how the security date is organized:

  • A user is granted a role.
  • A role contains a permission set.
  • A permission set contains permissions.
  • A permission is composed of technical actions.

A role contains one  permission set. It can be granted to N users or N user groups. If it is a shared role, it will contain one permission set for each application.

There are four types of roles:

To modify the roles of the user, follow the following steps:

Note:

  • You will be allowed to modify the details only if you have been assigned the privilege. Refer special roles section for more details on privilege
  • Below steps allows you to assign particular Role to Multiple Users.
  • You will not be able to revoke Role of a multiple users from here. You have to revoke the Roles from users one by one. 

Note: You can select either single/multiple users by selecting multiple check boxes. Hence you can assign a particular role to multiple users at a time.

Click on “Edit roles” (B) , you will get 2 options as shown in below:

  • Grant Role
  • Revoke Role

Grant Role

  • As soon as you select the option “Grant Role”, you are provided with the screen as shown below

Please note: The roles which are assigned to all the selected users will be disabled and cannot be selected in above screen

  • Select a Role (C). Only one role can be selected at a time using above screen. As you select role, “OK” will be enabled.
  • Click “OK” to assign the role or click “Cancel” to discard the changes. The selected Role will be assigned to all the selected users.

Revoke role

  • As soon as you select the option “Revoke Role”, you are provided with the screen as shown below

Please note: The roles which are not assigned to any of the selected users, will be disabled and cannot be selected in above screen

  • Select a Role. Only one role can be selected at a time using above screen. As you select role, “OK” will be enabled. 
  • Click “OK” to revoke the role or click “Cancel” to discard the changes. The selected Role will be revoked for all the selected users.

See Also: